Theorycrafting Crafting - Part 3: The Crafting Process

Nephele

Administrator
Staff member
Sorry for taking so long to get this one up. Life got unexpectedly busy last week and pulled me away from working on this post series.

If you’re just now coming to this series of posts, here’s what it’s all about. After the recent developer roundtable on crafting, several community members posted some very good constructive criticism of what they heard. This led me to start thinking about how I would do things if it were up to me. I’m not a professional game designer, and the only claim I can make is that I have played and crafted in many MMORPGs. But I felt like taking a stab at it anyway.

In Part 1 of this post series, I talked about something that I feel is a prerequisite for a crafting system, which is a solid itemization strategy for the game. In Part 2, I laid out some general concepts that underly the crafting system that I would envision for a game like Pantheon. Now I want to put those concepts together to show some hypothetical examples of how the actual crafting gameplay could work.

Before we start, a quick disclaimer.

Disclaimer: There are times when a picture is worth a thousand words. Ultimately, a lot of what I'm going to talk about in my examples is going to be dependent on the UI that is presented to the player when crafting. I wish I had the ability to create some UI mockups for this post, but I don't. I'd encourage everyone reading to try to visualize a crafting UI for each example, based on some of the games you've crafted in before. Odds are, you'll think of even more cool things that could be done than what I outline in my examples.

There’s a lot more to a crafting sphere than just the gameplay of creating an item, and I want to get to that in future posts, but one step at a time.

Part 3 – The Crafting Process