Item value in relation to local or global sale design

Barin999

Journeyman
I came across a stream of VoT where they discussed shared banks, locally or globally.

This got me thinking, how this design and common local or global sales would impact the value of items in general.
It seems quite an important factor but it seemed somewhat overlooked, while most focus on what use shared banking could be for them and their alts.

I hope to stir a discussion how you think it would have an influence.

If there is a shared bank, items lose their value. Be that sentimental value or difficulty to obtain. When those items reach other players beyond your own account, by trade, sharing or broker. If items drop only from a certain mob, region, content it will be of certain value. When this item is allowed to be easely transferred or otherwise traded throughout the world, one could say you're undermining the meaning/dept of the content itself.

When shared banking is available, the achievement of obtaining that loot, will be felt less so by that alt you are gearing up with it. In the scenario where there is no shared banking, you as a player, would still need to venture out on your alt and get it yourself or have friends trade it with you. This would be a more direct felt experience while playing on that alt. And that in turn could feel more rewarding and enjoyable. In the long run that would keep players in the game and unrolling alts.

If banking or broker systems, would go beyond the region/local market, this could greatly impact the value of items on a global scale and on a community scale. This in comparison to the shared bank design, that would mostly impact the singular player itself. So the consequences of this global market would put a lot of pressure on the prices of any and all items that players seek to cash in.
When the dev's design a loottable and put a price tag on the items themselves, there might be some thought behind it.